If not Google Docs, then what? There’s room ‘aplenty in the cloud

Is Google Docs the only decent cloud-based app for word processing?  I doubt it.  I know Microsoft is pushing to the cluods in earnest, and Zoho has been there for some time.  There are others.  I hear the names whispered by Google users now and again.  Is that ok?  Can I use those with my kids instead?  Is it ok to cheat on Google?  Yes, I have actually been asked this.

Seriously?  If it works for you, use it.  That’s your job as a teacher.  You don’t need me or anyone else to tell you what to use.  At the end of the day, if it is going to help your students learn, and they are comfortable using it, then find a way to make it work.

I am often asked what I would do if Google sold off Google Apps.  I am afraid to guess what exactly this reflects about that person, but to me this is a silly question.  I’d move on to the next best thing, as I have had to do with my NING network and several other decent online tools that change or evolve in a way that makes it incompatible with my classroom.  It’s called staying current.  If that means I am familiar with different tools than you use, what of it?  It really doesn’t matter.  I like Google Docs, and I find it creates an opportunity to do really innovative things with my students that help them learn.  I use other online tools, as well.  I don’t put all my eggs in one basket.  My favorite online tools are ever changing. 

Some teachers are afraid that if they invest in learning a new tool and it changes it will be a waste.  The real waste would be in not using anything for the fear that education will continue moving on.   Teachers need to own the responsibility to stay current and relevant, and stop waiting for the world to stand still so they can get comfortable.

Leave a Reply

