Growing Pains? Our district not showing much sign of resistance to Google changeover…

I was given about 10 minutes or so to address the teachers in the district about the changeover to Google Apps this year, fully expecting there to be a great number of teachers who were not at all interested in hearing any more about it or perhaps that they have been dragging their feet in getting going on it.  To my surprise, when asked to raise their hands if they had started to use the different tools in earnest, I was very surprised to see the results.  When I asked about using the Gmail, about 98% had spent a decent amount of time getting accustomed to the Gmail, about 80% had been using the docs, and about 70% were creating calendars.  I thought this was really encouraging considering most of this would have been done on their own over the summer. 

P.S.  Google is going through a growth spurt right now; things are changing rapidly.  I will be making a post to outline the more drastic of these soon, but I have to get my classrooms settled first.  If you are a teacher, I sure hope your classes are starting off on the right foot.

Please post if you are starting with a new Google-inspired teaching strategy this year…

One thought on “Growing Pains? Our district not showing much sign of resistance to Google changeover…

Leave a Reply

