Opera on my phone brings Google Docs to my pocket

This week, with a little extra time on my hands, I decided to try to look for a phone that I can use to access the full internet. I have a Boost phone I pay for by the month. In truth, I don’t use my phone much on a daily basis, but use it when I travel. I have wanted to get full internet on my phone, but those plans (and phones) were just too much for me to justify spending the dough. So I did a little research, and found that there was a mini version of the Opera browser available to upload to my phone. After a little figuring and cursing, I got it to work. It actually was really easy once I found the right instructions.

In any case, I now have full internet access on my flip phone. This is not available natively on Boost phones, so I am very happy that I have what I wanted without spending more.

What does that mean for me? Well, everything. I now have access to my Google calendar, Gmail, Delicious, My NING sites, and most important of all, my Google Docs. Anywhere. Even places without wi-fi.

I am now able to access any document in My Docs, and scroll through the document with relative ease. This is access I have only dreamed of:

In the hallway after school:
“Mr. VB, did you get the assignment I shared with you?”
“I don’t know, lemme check,” I can say as I open my phone. “Yes, it’s here.”
“When will there be feedback on it?”
“Well, I can tell you by looking at it, your opening paragraph needs more pop, and you have misused your citations, but it reads well, and the length is good.” Start on those things and I will send more later.”
“Ok, cool.”

It will be interesting to see just how handy this new development will be. I can see many uses, the most particular will be the easy, on-the-fly access to my calendar and docs.

Those of you with an iPhone or similar phone can stop rolling your eyes, I know I could have had access to these all along if I had bit the bullet and bought a smart phone, but let me ask you this:
have you used your phone to utilize Google Docs? If not, try it. I think you will find the possibilities endless!

Leave a Reply

