R.I.P. Parent Blog

I am sad to say that I am going to be closing my parent blog. It was a great experiement, but it’s time to face the music. I am not sure how I feel about the fact that in four months I got two followers and only a couple dozen page-loads for my blog for parents. I would have thought that the parents would have been more willing to participate. I feel a bit naive in the fact that I thought they would like to hear more about their student’s classroom. I feel a bit defeated, because I spent considerable time writing to no one. Most of all, I wonder if there is anything I could have done differently to make a go of it. Are parents just not interested, or do they want something else? All I ever hear from parents is that they desire more communication from teachers, but they don’t utilize our attempts to communicate with them. My Twitter feed was no more effective. Too impersonal, you may think (as I have)? Perhaps. However, at last conferences, I saw the parents of less than 10% of my students. I have not had a parent phone call all year. The ones I make are met with audible discomfort. It’s like they want communication, but not really. I shall investigate further…

Leave a Reply

