Paperless classroom has caveats

At this point, my Global Tech class is paper-free. I may have them do a little figuring of ideas on scrap paper from time to time, but for the most part, students do most everything on Google Docs, or our NING. Below is a breakdown of the transitions:

Old Way /Recent / Current

Journal, learning log /Blogger /Ning threads
Daily Assignments, book /N/A /Google Docs
Written Projects/ Word,Excel / Integrating Word,Excel,Google Docs
Lecture / Peer discovery /Online learning
Quizzes/ N/A /Google Forms
Small Group Work / Wikis /Google Docs & Ning
Verbal Instructions / Emailed inst. /Ning posts
Written corrections/ N/A /Live comments on documents

The catch is simple: You have to manage a LOT more digital material. It is changing how I use time. I need an hour working in my Docs inbox to manage all of the assignments the students share with me. It is about the same amount of time I may have spent looking at papers, but it seems somehow more tedious, because it is different than how I have done things for the past decade.

A plus that has recently occurred to me is the idea that there is NEVER anything to lose. It’s all in my folder, somewhere. Might be difficult to find, but I know it’s there somewhere.

One thought on “Paperless classroom has caveats

  1. The Ed Tech course I'm taking is also paperless – although I still find myself printing out somethings because I am kinesthetic. It's nice to be able to read an article on the subway.This course at MSU has opened me up to many more ways in which to learn and interact with other learners, such as Google docs and Adobe virtual space.

Leave a Reply

