CLOUDUCATION

education, cloud computing, technology, social media, leadership.

Philosophy of Education

Many educators have at some point had to define their philosophy of education. Whether it was for a Master’s class, or for a professional development directive, I think it important to, from time to time, define that which we stand for in education. I would go so far as to suggest that we as educators write a philosophy of education every year. As our personality and practice evolves, we, too, need to define that change regularly. Since it has been a while since I have written my philosophy of education, I humbly share it here. I encourage all others in education to do the same when the opportunity arises. I think it keeps us honest to our principles and profession.

I believe:

  • That I am a crucial part of the educational environment in which my students learn. My actions, mood, and approach have great impact upon my students.
  • That every student has a right to a supportive learning atmosphere regardless of personal background.
  • That my role in education is isolated from a student’s parentage and home life. It is not the student’s fault whether there is parental support at home. This is not relevant to my role as the teacher.
  • That I can improve my practice greatly by being connected to educators around the world, and that the best practices are being redefined by talented educators at all times.
  • That my ability to stay current on society, technology, and the workforce will benefit my students.
  • That my job is not 9-5, and that my responsibilities do not end at the end of the contract day.
  • That I have the right to have my express opinions and criticisms of the educational institution, and that I have a key role in speaking up for students.
  • That I have a responsibility to defend my profession and my students from politically-charged attacks.
  • That students deserve tabula rasa in all interactions, as they are growing and building their principles. I understand that they may make mistakes as a part of growing up. These mistakes are learning experiences, not indications of a student’s true color.
  • That I cannot stand for status quo in education, and must fight for constant improvement and evolution in my practice.
  • That all of my students deserve a fair shake and respect in all interactions, as students, particularly teens, often mistake harsh criticism for dislike or disrespect. I will make a point to make sure criticism is specific and constructive.
  • That I owe it to the profession to do all I can to improve myself, and share what I can with others in order to better the profession.

If you dare, please respond with your own philosophy.

2 Comments

  1. Tony,

    I agree with all your beliefs. My driving philosophy is that my job is to teach people how to think and how to learn, not what to simply believe.

    Doug

  2. Anonymous

    I’m not sure what I would add to that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,004 other followers

